Fresh Sour Cherry Pie

OK, I can see you eyeing that crust job!!! Don’t you know that’s a design element (what you do when the crust gets messed up in one spot)!!! Well, I don’t think it will harm the taste. I used a recipe from my childhood. I am unable to identify it as all edges were trimmed off the recipe…but it is from one of the women’s mags of the 60’s. Hope you enjoy it as much as we plan to this evening!!!

Delicious Sour Cherry Pie

1 Qt. fresh sour cherries, pitted
1 c. sugar
1/4 c. flour
1/2 c. cherry juice (I pitted my cherries the night before and they produced almost enough juice for the recipe. I added a little bit of water to make 1/2 cup).
1/4 t. almond extract
Few drops red food coloring
1 T. butter
Combine sugar and flour and stir. Add cherry juice and whisk to smooth. Cook, stirring constantly, until mixture boils and thickens. Add cherries, almond extract, food coloring and butter. Set aside while making crust.

Pie Crust (for double crust pie)

1 1/2 c. flour
1/2 t. baking powder
1/2 t. salt
1/2 c. shortening
1/4 c. cold water
2 t. white vinegar
Combine flour, baking powder and salt in food processor. Add shortening and pulse to coarse crumbs. Add water mixed with vinegar and pulse until it forms a loose ball. Divide crust in two. Roll out one crust to fit bottom of 9″ pie pan. Fill with cherry mixture. Place second crust on top and repair as needed if needed. Bake 425 degrees F for 35-40 minutes. If edges get too brown, wrap in foil or use crust guard. Serve when cool.

