Grandma Gorden's Pumpkin Pie

When asked how her pie came out so smooth, Grandma said, “I just add a little more milk.” So I’ll leave that up to you…the addition of about 1-2 oz. of milk does the trick for me. I usually use my Mom’s recipe for Thanksgiving pumpkin pie. But, this year, thanks goes to Back Street Bistro for this recipe that almost mirrors my Mom’s. The sugar is replaced with molasses and brown sugar and individual spices replace the pumpkin pie spice. One extra egg is added also. I know this is “after the fact” but it won’t hurt you to make another pumpkin pie for Christmas Eve or Christmas Day or New Year’s Eve or New Year’s Day. See…there are lots of opportunities!!! This pie turns out quite tasty and creamy and light. I think Mom would approve!!!

Deep Dish Pumpkin Pie
1 – single crust
1 3/4 c. pumpkin (15 oz. can)
1/2 c. plus 3 T. brown sugar
1 1/2 t. cinnamon
1 1/2 t. ginger
1 t. nutmeg
1/2 t. cloves
1/4 t. salt
1 can (12 oz.) evaporated milk
3 T. molasses
3 eggs
Heat oven to 375 degrees F. Prepare crust in pie pan. Place pumpkin, brown sugar, cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg, cloves and salt in large mixing bowl. Whisk. Add evaporated milk, molasses and eggs. Whisk until smooth. Pour filling into crust. Cover edge with crust shield or aluminum foil. Bake until set and shiny…about 1 hour. Test with knife (should come out clean). Serve with whipped cream.

