A Cauldron of Chili

What else to do on a cold, blistery day but make a huge pot of chili??? I know I have a recipe of my own somewhere…but…can’t find it. So I looked in all my cookbooks and found an array of ingredients and instructions. Put them together and came up with this:

Chili
1 lb. lean ground beef
28 oz. can crushed tomatoes
Two 15.5 oz. cans white kidney beans
Two 6 oz. cans tomato paste
1/2 c. diced onion
4 cloves garlic, minced
1 T. sugar
2 T. flour
1 t. cumin
2 T. chili powder (Paula Deen’s recipe calls for 1/4 c. but I don’t think I could stand that)
1 T. oregano
1 t. salt
A good pinch of dried cilantro
3/4 c. water

So, you know the drill. Brown the meat, sauté the onions and garlic…I don’t care what order you do that in. Then, add the tomatoes, paste and drained beans. Mix the sugar, flour and spices in a bowl then add to the pot. Stir. Add the water, top with a lid and allow to simmer for whatever amount of time you think is good. Mine will probably go an hour or two. Stir now and then. Taste after it has cooked awhile so you get the true flavor.

Now, I’m sure our version of eating chili is different than yours. We eat ours with an assortment of things on the table that we add as we eat like crushed nacho chips, diced green pepper, shredded cheddar cheese, sour cream and maybe even a little extra diced onion or even green onion. That’s why I don’t put too much salt in the pot…there’s already a lot in the things we add while we eat. I can hear you saying, “Oh boy, no wonder it tastes good!” Yes, it does!!!

