Kitchen Tested Chocolate Chip Cookies

Testing 1-2-3. Got up today anxious to complete the experiment concerning my chocolate chip cookies. Took dough out of the refrigerator (I never chill mine but the suggestion was to chill it). I used all good quality ingredients (butter, flour, eggs, and especially good vanilla). Unfortunately, the dough was hard as a rock (as I expected due to the butter).

Let it sit out to soften. Let it sit out some more. Finally, just formed the cookies as best I could and baked…probably 13 minutes on heavy baking sheets. These cookies contain bittersweet chips from Ghirardelli with Maldon Sea Salt Flakes on top (nice addition).

Result:
Texture: Good
Aroma: Good
Ease in making: Fair due to the firmness after chilling the dough
Appearance: Very good
Taste: Very good
All together I guess I would give these a GOLD METAL since they do taste and look good.

Here’s the recipe I used. It is supposed to make jumbo cookies but I made them about 2 1/2 inches across using a 2 T. scoop. Hope you enjoy them as I did.

Kitchen Tested Chocolate Chip Cookies

4 1/4 c. flour
1 t. baking powder
1 t. baking soda
1 1/2 c. soft butter
1 1/4 c. sugar
1 1/4 c. brown sugar
2 eggs
1 T. vanilla
12 oz. bittersweet chocolate chips
Maldon Sea Salt Flakes

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F. Combine flour, baking powder and baking soda in a bowl. Whisk together. Cream butter with sugars until fluffy. Add eggs and vanilla. Beat well. Stir in flour mixture only until combined. Stir in chocolate chips.
Chill over night. Drop by scoop onto parchment lined pans. Dip top of each cookie into the salt flakes. Bake 375 degrees F for about 12-13 minutes. Do not over bake. Cool on pan.

