Coffee Honey Cake

Thanks, My Favourite Pastime, for this great recipe. I’m sure you’re getting to know me by now…I did my own thing…left out the white chocolate and mixed the batter “my way.” But…look at it!!! The batter looks lovely, smooth and thick. I can hardly wait to frost it, cut it , and have a big bite!!! Here’s my version with special thanks to My Favourite Pastime for coming up with the original recipe. Maybe…no chocolate in it but…chocolate on top??? We shall see!!!

COFFEE HONEY CAKE

350 gr. flour
2 1/2 t. baking powder
2 T. instant coffee
2 T. hot water
2 T. milk
1 1/2 sticks butter
160 gr. brown sugar
3 eggs, beaten
6 T. honey
1 T. orange juice (mine had OJ with mango)
75 gr. confectioners sugar

Preheat oven to 300 degrees F. Grease loaf pan and line with parchment. Fix the liquids first by dissolving the coffee in hot water, adding the milk and then the honey and eggs when cool. Measure brown sugar into the bowl of a mixer. Add butter and beat until well blended. Measure flour and baking powder into a separate bowl. Alternately add the flour and liquid to the butter mixture. When it is as lovely as the batter pictured here, scoop into a prepared pan. Bake 1 1/4 to 1 1/2 hours or until cake is brown on top and toothpick comes out clean. Cool in pan on rack for about 10 minutes then remove from pan to finish cooling.

Mix OJ with confectioners sugar for the frosting. A brilliant idea would be to prepare the frosting and have it be of a thin consistency. Poke the cake with holes. Pour on the frosting while the cake is hot and put a few chocolate chips on top to melt so they can be smoothed over this luscious cake!!!

