No  crunchy bottoms here!!!

I know what you are thinking!!! She made another biscuit!!! Yes, because I don’t think I ever mentioned that the biscuits MUST be removed from the hot baking sheet when done so the bottoms don’t get “crunchy.” These will be smooth and soft all over. Too bad you aren’t here to share. These are a lovely, soft, tasty buttermilk biscuit that I can freeze and enjoy over a week or two. You’re not here!!! More for me!!!

BUTTERMILK BISCUITS

2 c. flour
1 T. sugar
2 t. baking powder
1/4 t. baking soda
1 t. salt
1/2 c. shortening
3/4 c. buttermilk (may need a little more due to the thickness of the buttermilk)

Oven 450 degrees F.
Mix the dry ingredients well. Cut in the shortening until it resembles crumbs. Add milk and stir only until combined. Knead a couple of times with you hands. Put on floured board and press down until 1/2 to 3/4 inch thick (I like mine thicker). Cut out as desired. Place on ungreased cookie sheet or parchment lined sheet. Bake for approximately 12 minutes. Now the important part is to remove from the oven and remove from the baking sheet either onto a rack or glass stovetop. Serve warm.

