Best Ever Scones

Thank you, My Favourite Pastime, for this great recipe. Baked up in just a few minutes. Smells great. I’m sure will taste great, too, with a little coffee. Used egg to brush them before baking and don’t they look wonderful??? I can hardly wait!!!

Here’s the recipe:
2 c. flour
2 t. baking powder
pinch salt
1/4 c. butter
1/3 c. sugar
1/4 c. raisins
1 egg, beaten
1/2 c. milk
egg for glazing

Mix flour, baking powder and salt. Add butter and rub into flour. My butter was very soft so this was easy. Stir in the sugar and raisins. Mix egg into milk. Mix the dry ingredients with the wet, stirring only to combine. Turn out onto floured board and press into a disk about 1″ thick. Cut into 6 wedges. Place on parchment lined sheet (I usually maintain the disk with wedges about 3/4″ apart). Brush with egg. Bake at 425 degrees F for about 15 minutes. Remove from oven and hot baking sheet by grabbing parchment paper and pulling scones off to a cold baking sheet. OK to eat warm if you can’t stand to wait like me!!!

