Lemon Chicken Rice Pilaf

Took half the chicken broth/stock and am making rice pilaf with it. Thanks, Rachael Ray, for this great double recipe…one for the poached chicken and one for the rice pilaf. Now that I’m supposed to be on a cardiac diet, I’m finding a lot of recipes that include poaching as compared to sautéing or frying the meat. There’s not really many ingredients in this recipe, either. Here it is and I will take a photo before I eat my portion, if I remember.

Lemon Chicken Rice Pilaf

2 T. butter
1/2 c. broken linguini
2 leeks, sliced thin in rounds
Salt and Pepper to taste
1/2 c. white wine
1 1/4 c. white rice
3 c. chicken stock
1 lemon, zested and juiced
3 c. cooked chicken, cut up in bite-size pieces
1/2 c. parsley chopped or 1 T. dry parsley

Heat butter in a skillet. Add pasta and toast until golden. Add leeks and sauté until soft. Season with salt & pepper. Add the wine, rice, chicken stock and lemon juice and zest. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat, cover and simmer 15 minutes until tender. Add chicken and parsley. Cover and let stand 5-10 minutes. Serve warm.

