Tried a new recipe and I am very happy with it…except for my inability to load the picture.  However, if you will do me the favor of using your imagination…you can imagine what it looks and tastes like!!!

 

The recipe is called Roasted Salt and Vinegar Potatoes (I called them Smashed Potatoes) and they are quite a novelty.  Thanks, Cook’s Country, for this great recipe that really turned out quite well…sort of like a baked potato that doesn’t  need butter and sour cream.

 

Imagine a small, very flavorful,  red skin or white potato, cooked in salted water so that the potato itself is permeated with a lovely, salty essence.  When I say “salty,” I mean “salty.”  About 1 1/2 c. of kosher salt to 2 quarts of water. The skin is dry and paper-like after being boiled.   Rub the potatoes with olive oil.  Then, each potato is “smashed” to the thickness of 1/2 inch, placed on a cookie sheet, brushed with vinegar (malt or cider) and baked for 25-30 minutes at 500 degrees F.  Brush with more vinegar after removing from the oven.   The edges brown and crisp with the heat.   The flavors meld and what’s produced is a lovely, potato treat for you to enjoy!!!

