Beef & cabbage 010

I had a lovely green cabbage I needed to use. I had ground beef. I had rice. I didn’t want to make stuffed cabbage rolls. So…what to do??? I found a recipe for cabbage and ground beef casserole. Thanks, Cooks.Com, for the recipe. It was easy and for some reason I had all the ingredients. I added some shredded cheese to the top (everything tastes good with that) and changed the instructions somewhat. The taste isn’t bad. I do, though, have enough for two armies so I have reinforcements coming to dinner!!!

Cabbage and Ground Beef Casserole

2 lbs. ground beef
1 onion, chopped
Saute beef and onion until browned. Pour into a colander to drain off fat.
1 c. dry long grain rice
Put into skillet and toast lightly. Pour out of pan into dish.
1 pkg. onion soup mix
1 can tomato soup
1 can water
Mix above in the fry pan until blended.
1 small green cabbage, shredded
Put cabbage in fry pan with soup mixture and cook for a few minutes to soften. Now, mix together the beef, rice and soup mix with cabbage. Use some pepper if you like. I felt there was already enough salt.
1-2 c. shredded cheese (of your liking)
My idea was to top with shredded cheese (something like cheddar). Now cover with foil and bake at 350 degrees F for about 1 hour (I used 45 minutes). Remove and let sit on the stove for about 15. I just tried it and the taste is not bad!!! I’m a happy person when I can use up things from my refrigerator!!!

