Swee Sour Cabbage 001

Here it is again this year. The sweet and sour cabbage. I will be making plenty of it!!! And a fact for you to know is that you can eat a whole head of cabbage and still be under 500 calories!!! (That’s just for those of you who have nothing else to eat in the house).

Here’s the recipe. It ‘s easy. The hardest part is cutting the cabbage even though I did it in no time with my Wusthof!!! No, I don’t have a mandolin anymore since cutting the side of my thumb off!!!  OUCH!!!

SWEET AND SOUR CABBAGE

3# red cabbage, sliced thin (organic, fresh from Maggie’s farm is best)
3 T. butter
1/2 c. water
1/4 c. cider vinegar
1/4 c. brown sugar
1/2 c. currant jelly
2 tart apples, chopped very small (optional)

Saute cabbage in butter. Add water and vinegar. Cook for about 5 minutes. Add brown sugar, jelly and apples. Stir to mix well and continue cooking covered until fork tender.

